The University of Cambridge examinations are the most widely recognised standard of English language competence. The examinations are generally given in December, March and June each year.

Cambridge English: First – B2 (commonly known as First Certificate in English – FCE)
Represents a general standard of practical English competence at an upper-intermediate level. In Portugal, it is widely recognised in commerce and industry.

Cambridge English: Advanced – C1 (commonly known as Certificate in Advanced English – CAE)
Indicates a high level of practical English competence for those entering, or already in, the working world. It is recognised by the majority of English universities as fulfilling entrance requirements in the English language.

Cambridge English: Proficiency – C2 (commonly known as Certificate in Proficiency – CPE)
Represents a very high standard of competence in English which is recognised, not only by many British universities, but also by universities in other English-speaking countries for the purpose of matriculation.

IELTS (International English Language Testing System)

Cambridge School can prepare you or members of your staff for the IELTS diagnostic test.
This test consists of 4 modules:

- Listening
- Speaking
- Academic Reading
- Academic Writing

Candidates are graded on a scale of one to nine (most colleges and universities require a score of 6.0 or higher).
IELTS exams are held on a monthly basis.
Cambridge School can provide you with dates when the exams are given in Portugal and can help you with your enrolment.